A Corn Exchange and Abbey Theatre co-production

The Fall of the Second Republic

24 February - 14 March 2020

By Michael West

in collaboration with Annie Ryan

Booking Information

Dates: 24 February – 14 March
On the Abbey Stage

Free First Preview: Monday 24 February

Times: Mon – Sat 7.30pm, Sat Matinees 2pm

Tickets: €13 – €45 / Conc. €13 – €32

Running Time: Approx. 2 hours with a 20 minute interval

Early Bird tickets available until 13 January

Age Guidance: 12+, includes some strong language

To book for a group of 6+ call (01) 87 87 222

Sign language interpreted performance: Thursday 12 March, 7:30pm

Touch Tour of Stage and Set: Saturday 14 March, 12:45pm

Audio-described and captioned performance: Saturday 14 March, 2:00pm

Emer Hackett is a fearless and determined investigative reporter – her target is the Taoiseach, Manny Spillane, a wily political survivor.

Their paths cross in the ruins of an old theatre, set to be the site for a banking centre, which promises to bring wealth to the Irish economy as well as to Spillane and his cohorts.

What Emer uncovers sparks a fury of consequences for her newspaper, her colleagues and the political framework of the country.

A new ensemble comedy from the creators of the much-loved Dublin By Lamplight, The Corn Exchange look at what Ireland might have become, 50 years after its independence.



'never dull, very funny, and hugely entertaining'
Irish Examiner

'genuinely funny, there are some top class performances'
The Irish Mail on Sunday

'A fitting portrayal of political disarray'
The Irish Times

'The ensemble are uniformly terrific'
The Sunday Business Post

'The cast of colourful characters make for an entertaining production'
The Sunday Times

Audience Reaction 



Show Trailer 

Production Images 

© Ros Kavanagh


© Ros Kavanagh


  • Manny Spillane T.D. and Con: Andrew Bennett
  • Tom Carney and Billy Kinlan T.D.: Declan Conlon
  • Finbar Lowe and Des Lackin T.D.: John Doran
  • Emer Hackett: Caitríona Ennis
  • Goretti Horan, Síle Foyle T.D. and Peggy Morgan: Anna Healy
  • Maeve Spillane-Lackin, Secretary Lunny and Sharon: Camille Lucy Ross
  • Oonagh Cassidy T.D. and Joan Walsh: Niamh McCann
  • Florry Daniels T.D., Mick Keogh and others: Eddie Murphy
  • Mossie Daniels T.D., Ed Buttimer and Garda Muldoon: Patrick Ryan

  • Writer: Michael West
  • Director: Annie Ryan
  • Set Design: Katie Davenport
  • Costume Design: Saileóg O'Halloran
  • Lighting Design: Sinéad Wallace
  • Sound Design and Composition: Denis Clohessy
  • Video Design: Jose Miguel Jimenez
  • Voice Director: Andrea Ainsworth
  • Producer (Corn Exchange): Aisling Ormonde
Call Box Office Open in Maps
Abbey Theatre
26/27 Lower Abbey Street
Dublin 1
D01 K0F1