An Abbey Theatre production

Dear Ireland Continues

10 August - 10 February 2021

Booking Information

Dear Ireland continues premiered on Monday 10 August at 7.30pm. 


A virtual ‘open house’ performance of letters, poems, and songs that express the many different hopes, experiences, and challenges facing Ireland at this moment.

We asked our audience to write a letter. To start it, ‘Dear Ireland’, and talk to the nation about what it should be discussing. We received letters from all corners of the country and overseas, letters in Irish, English, and Irish Sign Language.

Now 20 of these letters will be read from the Abbey stage by some of Ireland’s leading actors. These readings will be interspersed with epic music performances by Damien Dempsey and spoken word performances from Lord Mayor Hazel Chu, Mrs. Sabina Higgins, Minister Catherine Martin TD, and Fintan O’Toole.

In these profoundly unsettling times for Irish society and the entire world, Dear Ireland continues to give a voice to the nation. Join us for an evening of thought and song that tries to make sense of the world right now.

Production Images 

The Dear Ireland Line-up 


  • Letter Writer: Caroline Callery
  • Letter Writer: Aisling Cormack
  • Letter Writer: Gerard Curran
  • Letter Writer: Pranav Darshan
  • Letter Writer: Sean Denyer
  • Letter Writer: Peadar Donohoe
  • Letter Writer: Dave Duggan
  • Letter Writer: Bridgid Galvin
  • Letter Writer: Rebecca Hickey
  • Letter Writer: Holly Lusted
  • Letter Writer: Laura McAuley
  • Letter Writer: Patricia McGrath
  • Letter Writer: Alice McLoughlin
  • Letter Writer: Patrick J.A. Nolan
  • Letter Writer: Lianne Quigley & Alvean Jones
  • Letter Writer: Biaina Ryan
  • Letter Writer: Michael Shevlin
  • Letter Writer: Ava Stapleton
  • Letter Writer: Sinead Troy
  • Letter Writer: Ranae von Meding
  • Letter Reader: Florence Adebambo
  • Letter Reader: Muiris Crowley
  • Letter Reader: Jim Cunningham
  • Letter Reader: Wren Dennehy
  • Letter Reader: Rachael Dowling
  • Letter Reader: Kamila Dydyna
  • Letter Reader: Caitríona Ennis
  • Letter Reader: David Fawaz
  • Letter Reader: Bosco Hogan
  • Letter Reader: Jade Jordan
  • Letter Reader: Sarah Kinlen
  • Letter Reader: Ruth McGill
  • Letter Reader: Clare Monnelly
  • Letter Reader: Bill Murphy
  • Letter Reader: Mary O'Driscoll
  • Letter Reader: Rynagh O'Grady
  • Letter Reader: Terry O'Neill
  • Letter Reader: Ian O'Reilly
  • Letter Reader: Lianne Quigley
  • Letter Reader: Catherine Walsh
  • Music performed by: Damien Dempsey
  • Reading by: Lord Mayor Hazel Chu
  • Reading by: Sabina Higgins
  • Reading by: Minister Catherine Martin TD
  • Reading by: Fintan O'Toole
  • Artwork by: Maser
  • Other music by: Ray Harman and Lisa Lambe
Call Box Office Open in Maps
Abbey Theatre
26/27 Lower Abbey Street
Dublin 1
D01 K0F1