The Literary Department

The Literary Department

The Literary Department aims to nurture and support new and established playwrights in developing and staging new Irish plays. Our department has several strands of activity to offer writers support at every stage of their career.

For talented new voices, the Literary Department offers writer development workshops, such as the Playwrights’ Hub and Playwriting Pop-Ups, where these writers learn from and work alongside established theatre artists.

Scratch Nights, in-house workshops, and public readings of short play commissions on the Peacock stage encourage the development of emerging writers.


Writer Development Workshops

Cork Playwriting Pop-Up
The Cork Playwriting Pop-Up took place in Triskel Arts Centre, Cork, as part of the Cork Midsummer Festival, 2015.
This workshop was facilitated by Róisín Coyle, Julie Kelleher, Paul Mercier, Jessica Traynor and Carmel Winters.  Twelve playwrights attended this Pop-Up.

Playwrights’ Hub
The 2015 Playwrights’ Hub took place in the Irish Writers’ Centre, September 8 – 10 as part of the Tiger Dublin Fringe.
A series of curated workshops was held over three afternoons and facilitated by members of the literary team Róisín Coyle, Jessica Traynor and Jesse Weaver and playwright Michael West. Thirty playwrights attended this series of workshops.

Verity Bargate Award Masterclass
On June 5, the Literary Department organised a Verity Bargate Masterclass for invited playwrights which was led by Joe Murphy, Associate Artist from Soho Theatre.  Thirteen playwrights attended this masterclass.

Public Readings

Peacock Scratch Night
A selection of extracts of works-in-progress from talented and emerging voices were read in the informal surroundings of the Peacock Café. The evening was directed by Abbey Theatre Resident Assistant Director, Ronan Phelan, and moderated by playwright Jimmy McAleavey.
The cast included Kate Brennan, Manus Halligan, Ali White and Don Wycherley. They read excerpts from plays by Lee Coffey, Caitriona Daly, Philip Doherty, Fiona Doyle, Neil Flynn, Barry McStay, John Morton, Erica Murray and special guest playwright, Marina Carr.

Sophocles’ King Oedipus by W.B. Yeats
This reading complemented the production of Wayne Jordan’s adaptation of Oedipus as part of Dublin Theatre Festival. It took place on the Abbey stage on 9 October and was directed by Wayne Jordan. The cast included Malcolm Adams, Fiona Bell, Rachel Gleeson, Peter Gowen, Mark Huberman, Ronan Leahy, Charlotte McCurry, Helen Norton, Pat Nolan and Shane O’Reilly.

You may also like