

MINDOWS

WRITTEN BY
MICHAEL LAVERY, RAY MCHALLEM
LOUI MONTAGUE, AISLING MURPHY
EMILY MURRAY NELSON,
ÉADAOIN O'NEILL, JOE REIDY
AND SELINA XU
DIRECTED BY

PREMIERING ON TUESDAY 20 JULY 2021
WATCH ON ABBEYTHEATRE.IE

JEDA DE BRÍ

#WINDOWS21













COMPANY

Cast Juliette Crosbie

Holly Hannaway

Esther Ayo James Clinton Liberty

Matthew Malone

Katie McCann

Writers Michael Lavery

Ray McHallem

Louí Montague Aisling Murphy

Emily Murray Nelson

Éadaoin O'Neill Joe Reidy

Selina Xu

Fighting Words Mentors Hilary Fannin

Úna Kavanagh

Fighting Words Programme

CoordinatorMark DavidsonDirectorJeda de BríLighting DesignDara Hoban

Sound DesignerDanny FordeVoice DirectorAndrea AinsworthCastingSarah JonesProducerPhil KingstonProduction ManagerSally WithnellCompany ManagerDanny ErskineCompany Stage ManagerTara Furlong

Marketing Fergus Hannigan

Jack O'Dea

Areaman

Graphic Design Maeve Keane **Irish Sign Language Interpreter** Vanessa O'Connell

Special Thanks To:

Rosa Devine, the original coordinator at the beginning of

the project

Colm Quearney who provided background support and

assistance.

Emily Dedakis and all at Fighting Words NI.

We would also like to acknowledge our partner theatres who worked with these young playwrights to get them to

this stage.

Mermaid Theatre, Bray, Co. Wicklow.

Riverbank Arts Centre, Newbridge, Co. Kildare.

Lyric Theatre, Belfast, Co. Antrim. Everyman Theatre, Cork, Co. Cork.

Graffiti Theatre Company, Cork, Co. Cork. Linenhall Theatre, Castlebar, Co. Mayo.

Riverside Theatre, Coleraine, Co. Derry/Londonderry. Playhouse Theatre, Derry/Londonderry, Co. Derry/

raynouse Theatre, Derry/Londonderry, C

Londonderry.

Nun's Island Theatre, Galway, Co. Galway.

Finally, thanks to Creative Ireland.

Running Time: Approx. 90 minutes. There is no interval.



Video Production

ISL interpreted performances feature a professional interpreter who translates the production into Irish Sign Language.

EGHT WRITERS' NOTE VOUS WRITERS WRITERS

The story so far ...

For over ten years, Fighting Words and the Abbey Theatre have had a uniquely productive relationship. For a decade now, short plays, written and developed by teenage playwrights at Fighting Words, have been given professional readings on the Abbey stage in an annual one-day festival.

The growing strength of this uplifting collaboration led to talks about creating something more ambitious, a single piece of theatre that would attempt to capture a glimpse of young lives nationwide.

And then ... the pandemic hit.

The Abbey went dark, in-house workshops at Fighting Words were suspended. However, over the course of a year a group of writers, along with two Fighting Words mentors and the organisation's programme coordinator, met regularly over Zoom, where the young writers continued to think, talk and write about their experiences of living in an altered world.

The result is WINDOWS 21, a glancing look at young lives fighting for breath in the face of a global crisis.

Written by eight young writers, aged between 15 and 18 (who sadly never had the joy of being in an actual room together eating biscuits and reading each other's work), the piece stands as a testament to their continued desire to write and communicate through these tough and sometimes lonely times.

From not going clubbing because you're living with your vulnerable nan, to the dark inner world of a Deliveroo cyclist, via the Gods debating the meaning of love, this is theatre at its purest, most honest and joyous.

WINDOWS 21 is proudly brought to you by Michael Lavery, Ray McHallem, Louí Montague, Aisling Murphy, Emily Murray Nelson, Éadaoin O'Neill, Joe Reidy and Selina Xu.

ABBEY THEATRE STAFF

Andrea Ainsworth **Donal Ayton** Cliff Barragry Roxzan Bowes Aoife Brady Susan Bryan Nicola Burke Orla Burke Simon Burke Eoin Byrne Maura Campbell **David Carpenter** Daire Cavanagh Priyanka Chidgumpi Conall Coleman Derek Conaghy **Evan Connolly** Jeff Conway Jen Coppinger Richard Curwood Mairéad Delaney Sean Dennehy Pat Dillon Debbie Doak **Bronagh Doherty** Colin Doran Con Doyle David Doyle Laura Doyle Ken Dunne

Ken Dunne
Morgan Dunne
Danny Erskine
Breege Fahy
Eimear Farrell
Lisa Farrelly
John Finnegan
Craig Flaherty
David Fleming
Ellen Fleming
Robert Flynn
Veronica Foo
Tara Furlong
Sophie Furlong Tighe
Derek Garland
Donna Geraghty

Sandra Gibney

Shane Gill

Catherine Griffin John Gunning Cliodhna Hallissey Fergus Hannigan Grace Healy Marie Hegarty Daniel Hickey William Hickey **Dermot Hicks** James Hickson Dara Hogan Laura Honan Narges Jahani Larry Jones Sarah Jones Maeve Keane Fergus Kelly Yvonne Kelly Ailbhe Kelly-Miller Tom Kennedy Shane Kenny Andy Keogh Phil Kingston Anne Kyle Michael Kyle Luke Lamont Marie Lawlor

Bridget Lynskey Faust Julia MacConville Darren Magnier Heather Maher Elaine Mannion Katie McCann Éadaoin McCarrick Davy McChrystal Dan McDermott Kevin McFadden Róisín McGann Ciaran McGlynn Terence McGoff Grace McKiernan Caitríona McLaughlin Gus McNamara Victoria Miller Nadine-Mary Moore

Adrian Leake

Ciara Lynch

Conor Mullan Tara Mulvihill Donna Murphy Eimer Murphy Orlagh Murphy Agnieszka Myszka Emily Ní Bhroin Síofra Ní Chiardha Pawel Nieworai Mark O'Brien Adam O'Connell Esther O'Connor Colin O'Connor Jack O'Dea Aoife O'Neill Tara O'Reilly

Emma-Kate O'Reilly Selina O'Reilly Simon O'Reilly Valentina Quiroga Martin Reid Dean Reidy Fiona Reynolds David Roper Nolan Josh Roxby **Audrey Rooney** Pat Russell Barbara Ryan Joe Sanders Sarah Smith Fergal Styles Louise Stephens Cydney Thompson Seán Treacy Renée Van De Schoor

Sean Walsh Jesse Weaver Sarah-Jane Williams Sally Withnell Monika Wlodarczyk Bill Woodland Diarmuid Woods

BOARD

Mairéad Delaney Loretta Dignam Bosco Hogan Peter Lowry Máire O'Higgins Breda O'Keeffe Michael Owens Dr. Frances Ruane (Chair) Michael Wall Michael West

ABBEY THEATRE SUPPORTERS







PRINCIPAL PARTNER

BANK OF AMERICA

PROGRAMME PARTNERS







CORPORATE GUARDIANS



ARTHUR COX

Bloomberg









GOLD AMBASSADORS

Behaviour and Attitudes

SILVER AMBASSADORS

Trocadero The Merrion Hotel

DIRECTORS' CIRCLE

Tony Ahearne
Richard and Sherril Burrows
Pat Butler
The Cielinski Family
Deirdre Finan
Donal Moore
Sheelagh O'Neill
Dr. Frances Ruane
Susan and Denis Tinsley
Lloyd Weinreb

SILVER PATRONS

Frances Britton
Tommy Gibbons
Dr. John Keane
Andrew Mackey
Eugenie Mackey
Eugene Magee
Gerard and Liv McNaughton
Prof. Joseph Walshe
The Kathleen Murphy Foundation